Geophysical Insights at SEG 2017 in Houston, Booth #301
Using Attributes to Interpret the Environment of Deposition - A 1 day course. Taught by Kurt Marfurt, Rocky Roden, and ChingWen Chen
Dr. Kurt Marfurt and Dr. Tom Smith featured in the July edition of AOGR on Machine Learning and Multi-Attribute Analysis
Rocky Roden and Ching Wen Chen in May edition of First Break - Interpretation of DHI Characteristics using Machine Learning
Seismic interpretation and machine learning by Rocky Roden and Deborah Sacrey, GeoExPro, December 2016

Seismic Interpretation of DHIs with Machine Learning

July 25, 2017 - Paradise® Webinar


To register, please sign up by clicking the corresponding link for your preferred time.

North America & Latin America

Register
** When you click register, you will have the option to see this in your timezone. **
Europe

Register
** When you click register, you will have the option to see this in your timezone. **
 City  Time / Timezone:
 Pacific Daylight Time (PDT)  08:30 (UTC -7)
 Mountain Daylight Time (MDT)  09:30 (UTC -6)
 Central Daylight Time (CDT)  10:30 (UTC -5)
 Eastern Daylight Time (EDT)  11:30 (UTC -4)
 Brasilia Time  12:30 (UTC -3)
 City  Time / Timezone:
 London, United Kingdom  13:00 (UTC +1)
 Paris, France   14:00 (UTC +2)
 Moscow, Russia Federation  15:00 (UTC +3)
   
   
Africa & Middle East

Register
** When you click register, you will have the option to see this in your timezone. **
Asia-Pacific & Australia

Register
** When you click register, you will have the option to see this in your timezone. **
 City  Time / Timezone:
 Accra, Ghana  12:00 (UTC)
 Lagos, Nigeria  13:00 (UTC +1)
 Riyadh, Saudia Arabia  15:00 (UTC +3)
 Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates  16:00 (UTC +4)
 New Delhi, India  17:30 (UTC +5.5)
 City:  Time / Timezone:
 Hanoi, Vietnam  8:00 (UTC +7)
 Beijing, China  9:00 (UTC +8)
 Tokyo, Japan                            10:00 (UTC +9)
 Sydney, Australia  11:00 (UTC +10)
 Auckland, New Zealand  13:00 (UTC +12)

Title: Seismic Interpretation of DHIs with Machine Learning

Presenter: Rocky Roden, Sr. Consulting Geophysicist, Geophysical Insights

Description:

Direct Hydrocarbon Indicators (DHIs) are seismic anomalies due to the presence of hydrocarbons, caused by changes in rock physic properties, typically of the hydrocarbon-filled reservoir in relation to the encasing rock or the brine portion of the reservoir.  The accurate interpretation of DHI characteristics has proven to significantly  improve the success rates of drilling commercial wells.  In this webinar, Rocky Roden will look at seismic multi-attribute analysis using Self-Organizing Maps (SOMs), a machine learning approach that distills information from numerous attributes to provide an accurate assessment of DHI characteristics.     

Topics in this webinar will cover:

  • The impact of DHI’s on success rates of commercial wells
  • Top DHI characteristics linked to well success rates
  • Seismic attribute applications to DHIs
  • Using machine learning for multi-attribute analysis
  • Case Study: Offshore Gulf of Mexico
  • Case Study: Onshore Texas


The webinar is open to those interested in learning more about how the application of multi-attribute analysis is key to interpreting Direct Hydrocarbon Indicator (DHI) characteristics.

To register, please sign up by clicking the corresponding link for your preferred time.

Rocky Roden

Senior Geophysicist | Geophysical Insights

Rocky R. Roden has extensive knowledge of modern geoscience technical approaches (past Chairman-The Leading Edge Editorial Board).  As former Chief Geophysicist and Director of Applied Technology for Repsol-YPF, his role comprised advising corporate officers, geoscientists, and managers on interpretation, strategy and technical analysis for exploration and development in offices in the U.S., Argentina, Spain, Egypt, Bolivia, Ecuador, Peru, Brazil, Venezuela, Malaysia, and Indonesia.  He has been involved in the technical and economic evaluation of Gulf of Mexico lease sales, farmouts worldwide, and bid rounds in South America, Europe, and the Far East.  Previous work experience includes exploration and development at Maxus Energy, Pogo Producing, Decca Survey, and Texaco.  He holds a B.S. in Oceanographic Technology-Geology from Lamar University and a M.S. in Geological and Geophysical Oceanography from Texas A&M University.

Member Login
Welcome, (First Name)!

Forgot? Show
Log In
Enter Member Area
My Profile Not a member? Sign up. Log Out